[readinglessnessquib]

I’m enjoyably winding down my reading now, something I’ve been meaning to do for a while. I must have read 100s of books since I realised I needed to know a few things, but I’ve pretty much learned what I needed to know, so a period of fasting is in order to allow the stuff to gel in the nonverbal layers. I’ve done this before and it has always been productive… I just finished the tail end of my reading on religious dogma and will give some relevant results next Sat.

EDIT/afterthought: one of the problems with mass publishing is that all thoughts take on a certain sameness owing to the kind of print.

4 responses to “[readinglessnessquib]

  • christine

    When I quit my job I spent this past winter pretty much immersed in various online archives. Having never spent much time on the internet previously I was interested/a little horrified to find that it affected the way I dream. Reading in dreams?? A “back” button?? However, as a lucid dreamer, I went with it for a while, in fact that back button became quite useful to me.
    Then along came spring, and the return to the garden and foraging. I put the internet habit (mostly) aside, and the dreams evolved to another level..it was a useful exercise. However, I’m glad I’d also had keeping the woodburning stove going and breadmaking to keep me grounded during the winter. In an urban environment that may have been fatal.
    Books are not easy for me to come by, alas, as I prefer them, but I am grateful for the internet. To really study, I have to make notes, it’s just how my mind works best and still always with pen and paper. It’s been interesting to read these old texts, (which were likely written by hand), on a screen, then make notes of the things that interest me on paper. I felt as though I was translating them back into their original tongue, in a way.

    • Jason Wingate

      Oh hi there Christine!… garden looks great, loving the coyote skull :)

      Yeah they tell us the net alters brain connections… neuroplasticity… I rewire it with the Taoist practices.

      What texts have you liked online? One thing I always send people to which you might get a kick out of is Lawson.

      I only like to stop reading (I’m still allowed to read recipes and descriptions of exercises, a bit of news etc.) for a month or so now and then to allow my brain to spring back into shape.

      • christine

        Well Jason, I’ve had a lot of fun with Rudolph Steiner, got myself lost in the Soil & Health Library, deoxy.org has taken me more places than I can remember..then there were the years’ worth back issues of Backwoods Home magazine, many vintage “receipt” books and ohsomany blogs and and..you get the picture. My primary interest is the natural world and our relationships with(in) it. Winter was spent exploring how others see it, the rest of the time is spent immersed in my own experiences. The plant world speaks to me and has changed me in ways I have yet to be able to fully explain, even to myself. Perhaps another example of neuroplasticity?
        I will very much enjoy that link, thankyou – amusingly, Lawson
        is my family name. Gave me a bit of a start there!
        I admit, I find it difficult to follow some of what you write here, but then again, nothing pleases me more than learning.

        • Jason Wingate

          That’s funny about the name! You’re in good company here when it comes to being spoken to by plants, as you might have noticed.

          Yes it’s neuroplasticity if you like, but that could also be seen as the physical brain reflecting changes in non-physical entrainments.

          I admit, I find it difficult to follow some of what you write here

          You think you have problems, I have to write it. :)

