[qigongformsquib]

EDIT: According to this page, Li’s book will be reprinted at some point.

A good thing.

So I finally managed to learn some of Li Ding’s Meridian Qigong. I love it. It opens the twelve ordinary meridians plus ren and du, and has an individual form for each one. Consequently you have so much choice and yet also a lot of symmetry. It means getting all the points really well in an interesting and memorable way.

It also is really effective. I had not expected this level of qi movement, absolutely targeted to the individual meridian, and each form also addresses the parts of the meridian that are well beneath the skin’s surface and activates them in detail. You can feel the associated organs literally pulsing with qi and aliveness. I absolutely love this and will be learning all the rest.

I want to put it into the Qigong Reading List of course, but I guess it has to go in the Advanced section. Sometimes I wonder… I don’t want to put people off by calling things ‘advanced’.

One reason I do it is that it’s an out-of-print book which will probably cost a little more, not much video of the form around to cue off, and I notice its price just went up, so you really have to shop around and may not be able to find a copy. Obviously when people start to realise something is good that puts the price up in itself. That’s very unfortunate and more and more I’m beginning to wonder whether I couldn’t reprint some of these old books on lulu and get the authors some cash, if there was any demand.

The other reason is that for real beginners I always recommend something without a lot of details to learn. With a walking qigong, with zhan zhuang, or with Swimming Dragon, there is really just one thing to learn, and you are away. No waiting to get into it, so very quick results. With the meridian forms it is more like t’ai chi — you have lots of individual moves with no repetitions. It’s basically 250 pages of solid moves. For someone who has been going a little while this is incredibly fun of course, but for beginners, I think they would look at it and wilt.

That’s been my feeling but am I being overly populist or somehow patronising by thinking that? If anyone has any thoughts, let me know…

I can hear the groans now! Why can’t you use a book that is actually in print?! Why all these small paperbacks no-one has ever heard of?! Well I like them… the truth is I am judging by the covers somewhat. This was a pattern that was set young. I always trusted things that were cheap, never things that looked polished and well-funded. I liked cheap popular paperbacks, they meant sanity. Glenn’s books were not overly polished on the outside, otherwise I might never have looked at them! I call this the “Hawk the Slayer effect…” :)

Comments are disabled.

